Why is Tor anonymous and other things aren't?

Hi, I currently use Tor, but I was wondering what makes Tor anonymous when other things, like VPNs aren’t.

For example, I make an account on a website via a VPN, I use an alias email and a fake username. How could this account be tied to me?

• There are many things that tor provides over a VPN. Though i am still learning about the cryptography it uses to keep your full Tor circuit route to yourself , but i can say that incase of a VPN you are simply trusting the VPN provider to not share your logs. Here logs mean the time, date and IP address from which you tried to access the VPN server and possibly the requests made by your IP in accessing any websites.

• Whereas a TOR will uses multiple nodes/servers to route your traffic so , even if one node decides to log your activity ,it won’t come to know the original source of the traffic.

• Incase of a VPN even if you use fake username and alias or even a random code allotted to you to authenticate with server (which Mullvad offers) , they can still in theory log the IP addresses from where you made the requests. A government can then go forward and ask the ISP to reveal which customer was accessing that IP at that timestamp ,along with other unique identifiers to track you , even you were on a shared public IP.
    There would much more advance mitigation in place with TOR , other than just masking your IP address.
    I hope it helps.
    Cheers :+1:

How would a VPN’s multi-hop compare? Would that help with any of those issues?

Does really change anything, the VPN provider could still be able to find you though your real IP. The reason VPN providers have access to +2000 servers in different counties is that they buy access to them, they network providers they use would also be able to learn your real identify though your IP address.

Ok, thanks for the help!