Using my own domain name as a personal email

Hi, I’m new to the forum and new to privacy as well.

I wanted to have my personal email with my own domain name.

I don’t want my personal email address to be tied to a company’s domain name. I’ve switched email addresses so many times I don’t want that to happen anymore.

Right know I’m using an icloud email address (firstnamelastname@icloud), I wanted to switch to a more private and secure email provider but I want to use my own domain and not be tied to that company.

My plan is to buy “myfirstnamemylastname.com” , create “contact@myfirstnamemylastname.com” email and use it in tutanota.

I wanted to know the most cheapest private and secure ways to do that. I live in a very very poor country in Africa, so it doesn’t make any sense to me to spend a lot of money on yearly payment for domain name and email hosting.

My budget is $ 12 a year for domain name and email hosting.

Thanks for helping me and sorry for my English, I’m a beginner.

1 Like

I don’t know about the domain, because it depends also which kind of domain is it. Some are more expensive than others - .dev, .io, .eu etc.

But for the hosting you can use Github pages for example.

EDIT: Sorry, I did not read your post carefully enough :man_facepalming:

The problem is that even if you find some really cheap domain, usually to connect custom domain to the email service is paid feature :frowning:

Tutanota is the cheapest provider I know of that will allow you to use a personal domain, they will host your e-mail for $12 per year, if you get the 12-month subscription.

Keep in mind this doesn’t cover the year cost of owning the domain.

Sorry, the $ 12 doesn’t include tutanota, so my real budget is $ 24 a year

So all I need is tutanota premium plan and a domain provider?

What is the most private and secure you can think of.

Tutanota or Protonmail are your best options, but Proton is a lot more expensive at $45 pr year.