Privacy in research: Considerations for academic students and researchers

Hello,

I am currently a student/researcher at a university outside of the US and I was wondering what privacy considerations there are for conducting academic research and what tools to use.

I am aware of the issues in the US regarding monitoring software and exploration of students data; however, I have been fortunate enough to be not effected by this. This post focused more about the different tools people use for their academic research and what privacy consideration there are. I am going to share my experience, findings and questions in three areas: literature research, collaborative work, writing code.

In my experience, university are acceptance of students using alternative operating systems like Linux, however they definitely push mainly Windows focused software. I have being using a Ubuntu-variant for most of my academic path. Setting up a Windows VM can be benifical.

Literature research

How do people feel about using Google Scholar? In my personal life, I avoid Google complete (except for YouTube) with a de-google phone, etc. However I have found that the Google Scholar website has fewer trackers than alternative such as Web of Science and Scopus. Personally, I would not touch anything that comes from Elsevier, since they are one of the most evil companies and actively lobbying the open access movement. See: Elsevier - Wikipedia

Furthermore, Google Scholar there is no need for a university account to access it and therefore provides a valuable tool for people outside of academia to do their own research.

I applaud the effort of Sci-Hub, however it is not suitable for finding new papers.

Collaborative work