NextDNS configuration

Hello! Privacy newbie here.

I presently use quad9 DNS, but am considering switching to NextDNS. What intrigues me is the latter’s capability to block trackers: I’d like to use it on my android phone, to block (at least some of) the apps’ tracking (I am using the DDG app at the moment, but I would gladly get rid of it, also because it occupies the vpn slot).

Have you got any advice for the NextDNS configuration? And should I add more filters to the default ones? I read contrasting suggestions on which should be included. My best guess would be to have the default filter list, plus oisd and fanboy enhanced. I do not care about ads filters (I already block them in my chosen browsers, and I do not use apps that have ads in them).

Thanks in advance!

1 Like

Firstly, welcome to the forum.

Before you switch, I should mention that Quad9 does feature malware blocking. From memory, I think the default address does this. I don’t know how effective it is, but it’s better than nothing.

As for NextDNS. You can use as many blocklists as you want. Even manually entering addresses that those blocklists don’t block, by default. Just read each list, to see what you want/need. I have found that NextDNS can have issues when you enable too many, though.

Also, go over the other settings NextDNS offers. It’s quite a handy service.

Quad9 only block malicious domains that are a danger to users, they don’t block trackers.

1 Like

Huge brain fart writing this. Ignore.

Not sure what you are trying to say, but malware and trackers are not the same.

My biggest tip would be to try and manage your own blocklist and allowlist.
Filters often block domains that break sites (ex. Captchas), so the best thing to do is use NextDNS for a while and take a look at your analytics, block unwanted domains and allow the ones you need, while personally managing your filter lists.