Manage passwords

i currently am signed up for so many services that idk how to keep track of them. till now i was using the firefox inbuilt password manager but now i want to store passwords even outside of firefox. so i thought ill make an excel sheet sort of thing which will contain usernames and passwords and then encrypt it using a tool and then upload it to a cloud storage platform. i realized this is very inefficient. people suggested me to use password managers like Bit warden, keepass xc etc . i am very new to password managers, so i don’t understand how is bitwarden a good choice when all of my passwords are online? sorry if i sound like an idiot now, but i really need assistance on how to manage so many passwords. (also i don’t want to store them locally because 1 format and everything is gone). also i can’t really pay for bitwarden because i am currently a student and have no money

Bitwarden encrypts your passwords so only you can access them

Not at all! It’s better to understand how things work before choosing to use them or not

1 Like

does it autofill and suggest passwords in websites? (like how Firefox does)
also, it’s a paid service right?

Bitwarden can autofill on all platforms, although on desktop you need to click the extension and then the correct item. You can make it do this automatically in settings but I think it’s less secure.

Bitwarden has both free and paid plans, free should work fine most of the time

1 Like

alright, thanks. but is it possible to import all of my passwords from firefox to bitwarden easily? (because there are a lot and i can’t copy/paste them manually)

You should be able to. There are lots of different things you can import from, i’m pretty sure Firefox is an option

Edit: just had a look and you can import from Firefox :+1:

Just wanting to mention, to get it to work, you’ll need the extension in the web browser, but its worth it.