I want to follow Michael Bazzell's steps for sanitizing Android (from ep. 246) but I'm already stuck at the first step

Michael’s show notes: The Privacy, Security, & OSINT Show – Episode 246 – IntelTechniques Blog
say:
“Windows: choco install adb”
Windows is my only option atm, so I just searched “choco install adb” and clicked on the first link, which says

Some Checks Have Failed or Are Not Yet Complete
Not All Tests Have Passed
Scan Testing Resulted in Flagged as a Note:
At least one file within this package has greater than 0 detections, but less than 5
In cases where actual malware is found, the packages are subject to removal. Software sometimes has false positives. Moderators do not necessarily validate the safety of the underlying software,"

It goes on like that.
as a newbie, I can’t tell what this means, what are they talking about? I feel like when you don’t understand something, you have to be extra cautious, so even though my gut tells me “they can’t possibly be saying their own product has malware in it” I don’t understand this, so I need to find someone who does.

So that is a terminal comand, using this, not something you search. I personally had a bit of trouble installing and using adb and fastboot and ended up using an installer which unfortunatelly i don’t have any more. But I didn’t use chocolatey so it might work for you. Do you have AMD or intel machine?

BTW If you link to the show notes it might help people help you :grin:

1 Like