Hey thought I'd introduce myself

Hey there, I’m ProudPenguin2479, but you can call me Quinn. Im really into Linux and android, and hope to become a SysAdmin someday. You’ve probably already seen me replying to some posts around here, but thought I’d do a formal introduction. Some of my other interests other than Privacy and Security are books, music, and 3D Printing. Anyways, hope you all have a great day!

6 Likes

Nice to meet you Quinn!
I am also learning Linux as well and already in the space through IT support. Hoping to take it to other places someday :slight_smile:
Welcome to the Forums and hope to help you out when I can :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Hi Quinn, I am Josh (mHat). I am an IT support technician, and between me and h my line manager we manage around 113 client devices, on top of a enterprise network. So plenty to do😂.

2 Likes

Hi Josh, that sounds like quite a hectic job haha. Despite it sounding like a lot of work, it does sound fun though

1 Like

Thanks, I hope if you need any help I can be of help to you too!

Yeah, it is great fun, and a great opportunity to grow too. You constantly have to learn new technologies and approaches. You have to automate as much as possible, so you only have the important things left.

2 Likes

Automation is a lot of fun, I try to automate as much as I can as it is. Learning about new stuff is a lot of fun too.

What are you learning/trying to automate at the moment?

1 Like

I’ve been doing a lot of bash and python, trying to make scripts to setup Linux distros to my liking

1 Like

Nice! What distribution are you using as a base?

1 Like

Fedora, it’s my favorite all round distro

Okay nice, thinking of moving to fedora, although not a fan of Gnome personally, so would want to swap that out. I know, how could I not like Gnome?:joy:

1 Like

I mean it is really bloated, but also really sexy. If you don’t want it though, the everything under or one of the spins could be an option