Do you really need anti-virus on Linux?

Do you really need an anti-virus on Linux? I ask because I am curious about your opinions and experiences.

I don’t use one currently, but I’ve heard arguments for and against it.

One argument for it is that, obviously, it can catch known viruses.

One argument against is that the antivirus would need deep access into how your system works, and if the antivirus itself is exploited, that becomes a big problem for you.

I can’t really make heads or tails of it, so for now I don’t unless I hear the Linux community start changing their mind in a big way. I would need to see an actual option be provided as well because I don’t know which antiviruses are trusted.

Would also love to hear other thoughts because I am not technical!

1 Like

Peronally I believe decent firewall rules and hygiene re accounts and logins is often enough.

I did recently follow Chris Titus Tech’s tutorial for setting up a firewall on my system.

Hot take but I agree with the Late Mcafee (John McAfee: about blockchain, bitcoins and cyber security - YouTube). Antivirus is currently useless as it stands. Most exploits that are serious issues aren’t recognized by the antivirus in question most of the time one gets false positives. If your system is infected already then maybe antivirus can detect what has infected your system.

But what’s important is to not get infected in the first place if malware has root access to your machine it is not your machine anymore.