Best browser for privacy/security?

This is my third post in my 2 or so hours here :^)

But I need a secure and private browser. Right now I’m using Librewolf, a Firefox fork for security that also prevents fingerprinting. I also have the Tor browser on my machine. After reading through the stuff here, it seems like there’s no good browser. Firefox is apparently less secure than Chromium, but of course Chromium is controlled by Google (Yeah, FOSS, but still under Google’s reign). And Tor is also apparently insecure. Are there other independent, secure, private browsers?

This may help: https://privacytests.org/

2 Likes

check out this post:

maybe you can find an answer to your question.

I think librewolf is decent in terms of privacy ,it provides some out the box hardening over firefox. I personally use librefox but also have brave installed with the u-block origin extension which covers some fingerprinting issues with brave.
I am no security expert but i do often feel that chromium based browser would be better at security as it has much bigger community of developers like of chrome who constantly contribute upstream to fix any security vulnerabilities.
I often switch between both these browsers depending upon the work i need to do. For example on Brave i have separate profile for visiting any site which requires google account like gmail etc. So you can practice browser isolation too. Also i would prefer to keep google safe browsing toggled on , incase of librefox , as i am guessing it will do a better job at identifying any phishing or deceptive sites if you happen to come across any.
In case of Android i switch between bromite and brave , depending upon work.